The South West respiratory rotation includes 37 posts in the following hospitals:

University Teaching Hospitals:

District Hospitals:

All rotations include dedicated attachments in Intensive Care, undertaken at Derriford and Musgrove Park hospitals. The hospitals on the rotation provide training in all respiratory subspecialties with the exception of lung transplantation: the attached spreadsheet shows the location of subspecialty services - Location of Subspeciality Services

The individual rotations are variable and can be adapted to the needs and interests of trainees. All trainees spend time in both district and teaching hospitals. In the past all rotations have included attachments in Bristol, and this remains an option for all trainees. However, with the development of the Peninsula Medical School and the resulting expansion of academic activities in the Peninsula hospitals, trainees can now choose rotations based entirely in the Peninsula.

There is a programme of regional training days covering all aspects of respiratory medicine and a separate programme for general medicine: trainees are entitled and expected to attend these. The West Country Chest Society meets twice each year, with a programme of national and local speakers; trainees are encouraged to attend and to present their research, audit and clinical cases.